chfa sectioneight homeownership

​CHFA SectionEightsm Homeownership is available to renters who receive Housing Assistance Payments (HAP) from Public Housing Authorities (PHA) and are approved by the PHA to participate in their homeownership programs.

​​​​​​​​​chfa sectioneight homeownership qualifications

​​Applicants must meet the following minimum criteria*: 

  • Have received tenant-based Section 8 rental vouchers for at least one year prior to application
  • Meet HUD’s and CHFA’s first time homebuyer requirement**
  • Meet HUD’s minimum income requirements
  • Meet CHFA’s maximum income li​mits​​​
  • Complete a CHFA homebuyer education class (online or in-person) prior to signing a purchase contract
  • Have a mid credit score of 620 or higher
* In addition to qualifying for the CHFA program guidelines, you must also qualify according to the first mortgage underwriting guidelines as determined by your CHFA Participating Lender.​

**A first time homebuyer is defined by CHFA as one who has not had an ownership interest in a primary residence for the three years prior to the mortgage loan closing.

​down payment assistance​​​​​

​CHFA SectionEight Homeownership Plus has the same features as the CHFA SectionEight Homeownership program and offers a CHFA Down Payment Assistance Grant (CHFA DPA Grant)​​ or zero-percent second mortgage loan to help with down payment and/or closing costs.​

Find a CHFA Participating Lender


Contact a CHFA Partic​ipating Lender ​to get started on your road​ home.